top of page

MUSHROOM SOUP


Nikon D7000, ISO 100, f8, 1/4, 50 mm

It was usual weekend and my favorite time for discover new cuisine and make photos.

This time i choose mushrooms as my experimental ingredients. And as I big fun of cream soup I decided that it definitely should be the one.

I surfed Pinterest to find the way which suits to me to make this wonderful dish. And as finish of my the Internet adventure I found this recipe http://bit.ly/1MOLbMG.

 

Second round of preparation is shopping. I like it very much. Fist of all you investigate your fridge and kitchen stock. After that composing the list of necessary things. And of course the finest one is to seek and buy. I composed the following list:

1. Mushrooms

2. Green (parsley, onion)

3. Garlic

4. Olive oil

5. Butter

6. Worcestershire sauce

It is great that there is big supermarket near my home. And of course it is not all ingredients for making soup.

The second step is done and I can follow to cooking.

 

List of ingredients:

  • 2 cups (300g) fresh mushrooms assorted variety

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil

  • 3 cloves garlic (very finely chopped)

  • 1 tbsp. butter

  • 1 tbsp. fresh thyme chopped or 1 tsp. dried

  • 1 bay leaf

  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

  • 1 cup chicken or vegetable stock

  • 1 tbsp. flour dissolved in 1 tbsp. water

  • ½ cup heavy cream

  • ½ cup milk

  • dash of nutmeg

  • salt and pepper to taste

  • fresh parsley or chives for garnish

Cooking instruction:

  1. Heat olive oil in sauce pan. Add butter and lightly saute garlic on medium heat.

  2. Add mushrooms, thyme, bay leaf and Worcestershire sauce.

  3. Cook over medium heat for 5 minutes or until moisture from mushrooms has evaporated.

  4. Add in chicken broth, stir occasionally until broth boils, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.

  5. Add diluted flour, stirring constantly until soup thickens.

  6. Season with salt and dash of nutmeg.

  7. Add cream and milk, bring to slow simmer for another 5 minutes.

  8. Serve with fresh ground pepper and garnish with chopped parsley or chives.

 

Preparations almost done and I can start to making photo. I use only natural light for my food photo experiments. Fist of all it is better to define the best time for making photo taking into account sun way. In my case it was 16-00. That is why I started cooking at 15-00. And of course to prepare tripod and reflectors. Define the exposition (preliminary) and waiting for dish)).

As my model was ready I had only 20 minutes for session before model lost its attractiveness.

Result: tasty dinner and lovely photos.

You can see them as part of my portfolio:

Nikon D7000, ISO 100, f2.8, 1/15, 50 mm

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page