top of page

EGGSPERIMENT


Nikon D7000, ISO 100, f 13, 0.4, 50 mm

It was the second time when I thought about photography this year. And I was wondering about new horizon of my hobby. I wanted to make dark moody photo and fairy ones.

So the first step as always was to find my star. Pinterest is a good platform for such searches and my eyes were frozen by poached eggs. I thought that it is definitely the star for moody photo (the contrast was amazing in my imagination) and I try to make it star in white.

 

Challenge was accepted. First step of preparation is to define the who will be the second part.

The picture which I saw in my head it was green basil. And it was absolutely amazing picture should I say )).

Second step is light. As I have window only from West side of my apartment I started to investigate the sun schedule. It was discovered that the best time for shooting is from 15:00 till 18:00.

Third step is the list of actors (ingredients). Unfortunately it is not a season for green basil. That is why it was decided that the second part will take red basil and arugula.

Fourth - light. I made almost 50 shots before arrange white balance, and light. Also the fist scene was prepared.

Fifth - cooking. Detailed instruction how to poach eggs you can find by link. From my side I want to express surprising as it was too easy. Thank you author.

What you’ll need:

  • As many eggs as you’d like poached or called for in recipe.

  • 8-inch skillet or 2-quart sauce-pan

  • Slotted spoon

  • Small custard cup or glass bowl

How to:

1. In a skillet or saucepan, heat 2 to 3 inches of water to boiling; reduce heat so water is simmering. Break a cold egg into a custard cup or small glass bowl.

2. Holding cup close to water’s surface, carefully pour egg into water. Repeat with another egg. (Be sure you’re using a large enough pan so that eggs don’t touch during cooking.)

3. Cook uncovered 3 to 5 minutes or until whites and yolks are firm, not runny. Remove eggs with slotted spoon.

 

And at least I can make picture. It took around one hour, almost 200 pictures as raw and only 3 final pictures. You can all of them in this post. I personally prefer the last one.

Also you can find them in my microstock portfolios.

Nikon D7000, ISO 100, f 9, 1/40, 50 mm

Nikon D7000, ISO 100, f 5, 1/40, 50 mm

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page